Login to enhance your shopping experience.

Login or Create an Account
Quick Store Search

Advanced Search
Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

~ $ 8.95 Shipping within Australia ~

Deltora Quest Series One - Dread Mountain - Emily Rodda

Deltora Quest Series One - Dread Mountain - Emily Rodda

Deltora Quest Series One - Dread Mountain - Emily Rodda

Deltora Quest

Dread Mountain

Series One, Book Five


Author : Emily Rodda

Format : Paperback, 120 pages.

Condition : Used. Ex-library book - pages coming loose from binding.

Dimensions : 13cm x 20cm x 1cm


Book Summary

Lief, Barda and Jasmine are on a perilous quest to find the seven lost gems of the magic belt of Deltora. Only when all the gems have been restored to the belt can Deltora be freed from the tyranny of the evil Shadow Lord.

Four gems have been found. Now, though grave news reaches Lief from home, and he longs to return, the quest must continue. To find the fifth stone the heroes must venture almost to the border of the Shadowlands, and plunge into the darkness and terror of the realm of the monstrous toad Gellick-Dread Mountain.

Series Summary

On his sixteenth birthday, Lief, the son of a blacksmith, faces the greatest challenge of his life. He must venture into the darkest and most terrible places in all of Deltora to find the seven magical gems stolen from the Belt of Deltora. When reunited in the Belt, these gems—an amethyst, a topaz, a diamond, a ruby, an opal, a lapis lazuli, and an emerald—will empower the heir to the throne of Deltora and free the people from the evil tyranny of the Shadow Lord.

Emily Rodda

Emily Rodda is one of Australia's most successful, popular and versatile writers, and has won the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Award an unprecedented five times.A former editor of The Australian Women's Weekly, Emily is also the best-selling author of adult mysteries under her own name of Jennifer Rowe. Among the many children's books she has written are Crumbs!; Finders Keepers; The Timekeeper; Rowan of Rin; Rowan and the Travellers; Rowan and the Keeper of the Crystal; and Rowan and the Zebak. 2003 saw the release of the final book in the Rowan series, Rowan and the Bukshah.Rowan of Rin was the Children's Book Council of Australia's Book of the Year for Younger Readers in 1994. Rowan and the Keeper of the Crystal was short-listed for the 1997 CBCA Book of the Year Award for Younger Readers. Rowan and the Zebak was short-listed for the same award in 2000.Emily also wrote Teen Power Inc, a mystery adventure series that attracted a devoted following of young readers. Her most recent picture-book titles include Game Plan and Where Do You Hide Two Elephants?First published in 2000, Deltora Quest has become a favourite with children around the world. Deltora Quest is consistently short-listed for children's choice awards, winning the 2002 YABBA and KOALA awards in the younger reader categories and the 2002 Peter McNamara Convenors' Award for Australian Speculative Fiction.

Emily comments on Deltora Quest :
I was really excited when I thought of the idea of writing Deltora Quest. At first I wanted to write a serial-type quest, a story that would go over several books. The Rowan of Rin books, which have always done quite well and which I love writing, are complete, without a continuing storyline. I really wanted to write a classic quest in stages, culminating in a final book. I had the idea of a quest involving three heroes and had worked on the manuscript for quite a while before I took it to the publisher, Scholastic Australia. I wanted to see what they thought of it and it turned out that they thought it was a great idea.

Other Deltora Quest Books

Series One

1. The Forests of Silence
2. The Lake of Tears
3. City of the Rats
4. The Shifting Sands
5. Dread Mountain
6. The Maze of the Beast
7. The Valley of the Lost
8. Return to Del

Series Two, Deltora Shadowlands

1. Cavern of the Fear
2. The Isle of Illusion
3. The Shadowlands

Series Three, Dragons of Deltora

1. Dragon's Nest
2. Shadowgate
3. Isle of the Dead
4. Sister of the South




Dread Mountain - Deltora Quest Series One



Our Price:


In stock-ready to post today.

All required fields are marked with a star (*). Click the 'Add To Cart' or 'Add To Wish List' button at the bottom of this form to proceed.

gift wrappingGift Wrapping - please select gift wrapping for each item you want wrapped

Xmas Gift Wrapping - Add $1.95

Standard Gift Wrapping - Add $1.95

Item Quantity

Enter the appropriate quantity for this item below.

Online Store Menu
Recently Visited Pages
Popular Pages