Login to enhance your shopping experience.

Login or Create an Account
Quick Store Search

Advanced Search
Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

~ $ 8.95 Shipping within Australia ~

Eoin Colfer - Artemis Fowl - Biography

Untitled Document

The Artemis Fowl Series, by Eoin Colfer


Series Summary

Artemis Fowl is a series of fantasy novels written by Irish author Eoin Colfer, starring the teenage criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl II. The series is written in half-serious language, alternating dark moments with humorous ones, a style favoured by a number of popular children's authors, including J. K. Rowling (Harry Potter) and Roald Dahl (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory).

Artemis, the main character, is a ruthless and extremely intelligent young criminal whose main goal is the acquisition of money through a variety of often illegal schemes (although his values change towards the 5th book). The author summed up the series as: "Die Hard with fairies."

There are six novels in the series; the first was published in 2001 and the sixth released in the United States on 15 July 2008. A film based on the series is also in development, although most details are unclear.

Eoin Colfer

Eoin Colfer (pronounced Owen) was born in Wexford on the South-East coast of Ireland in 1965, where he and his four brothers were brought up by his father (an elementary school teacher, historian and artist of note) and mother (a drama teacher). He first developed an interest in writing in primary (elementary) school with gripping Viking stories inspired by history he was learning in school at the time! After leaving school he got his degree from Dublin University and qualified as a primary school teacher, returning to work in Wexford. He married in 1991 and he and his wife spent about 4 years between 1992 and 1996 working in Saudi Arabia, Tunisia and Italy. His first book, Benny and Omar, was published in 1998, based on his experiences in Tunisia; it has since been translated into many languages. A sequel followed in 1999, followed by some other books (see below). Then in 2001 the first Artemis Fowl book was published and he was able to resign from teaching and concentrate fully on writing. Eoin Colfer made his U.S. debut with the spring 2001 publication of Artemis Fowl. Just six years later, Colfer has sold over 9 million Artemis Fowl books and over 10 million total books in the U.S. alone, and has established himself as a leading force in children’s fiction.

Artemis Fowl was one of the most eagerly awaited children’s books ever published. This adrenaline-packed crossover novel marked the arrival of the Irish teacher-turned-author as a major force to be reckoned with in the popular fantasy genre. Its sequels, Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident, Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code, Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception, and Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony all hit #1 on the New York Times best seller list. Eoins most recent book in the series, Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox, will be published on July 15th 2008 and will be supported with Colfers live one man stage show, Fairies, Fiends and Flatulence, throughout the U.S. In January 2008, Eoin Colfer revolutionized his canon with the publication of Airman, where he combined his great loves of classic adventure stories, 19th century science fiction, and the superhero genre for a book that garnered the strongest reviews of Eoins career. Eoins first book, Benny and Omar, appeared in 1999 and instantly achieved best-selling status in Ireland. His nest title, Benny and Babe, was another bestseller and was short listed for Irelands Bistro Award in 2000. Eoins other titles which have all been tremendously successful both in the US and around the world, include The Supernaturalist, The Wish List, and, most recently Half Moon Investigations. Eoin also has published a chapter book series, The Legend of Spud Murphy, to much acclaim. Eoin is married to Jackie, a former teacher, and they have two children, Finn and Sean. They live in Wexford, Ireland and in the South of France. He says, "I will keep writing until people stop reading or I run out of ideas. Hopefully neither of these will happen anytime soon. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.

Books In The Series

1. Artemis Fowl
2. Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident
3. Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code
4. Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception
5. Artemis Fowl: The Lost Colony
6. Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
The Artemis Fowl Files





The Artemis Fowl Series, by Eoin Colfer

Online Store Menu
Popular Pages